The Sustainability and Energy Management Council (SEMC) was established in 2010, building on the successful cross-School work of the GHG Reduction Goal Working Groups. The SEMC is comprised of key Senior University staff including all facility and energy leaders from across campus as well as School representatives from Human Resources, Finance, and Communications.


The SEMC's mission is to facilitate best practice sharing amongst facilities and operations leaders across Harvard Schools and units to enable the cost-effective achievement of the University’s sustainability and energy management goals.

The group is managed by John Ullman with the Office for Sustainability and meets every two months to facilitate University-wide discussion around best practices for the cost-effective achievement of sustainability and energy reduction goals and to ensure University-wide alignment and policy development for increased efficiencies and progress. SEMC expertise shapes the proposed GHG reduction policies and principles prior to Executive Committee review. Subject-specific SEMC sub-committees are convened to develop proposals for key GHG and energy conservation topics.


The SEMC is led by three Co-Chairs representing the Schools, Campus Services and other units: Andy O’Brien, Chief of Operations at the Harvard Business School, Doug Garron, Director of Energy & Facilities, and Heather Henriksen, Director of Office for Sustainability.  

Facilities Management Officers

  • John Arciprete, HLS
  • Peter Atikinson, HAM
  • Danny Beaudoin, HSPH   
  • Kevin Cahill, GSD
  • Jason Carlson, GSE
  • Ralph DeFlorio, HDS
  • Lester Gerry, RAD
  • Arthi Kasetty, HKS
  • Bob Leandro, HUDS
  • Mike Lichten, FAS
  • Mike McGowan, HMS
  • Jason Munro, FAS
  • Pam Redfern, SEAS
  • Doug Scatterday, HBS
  • Peter Stroup, HMS
  • Ken Wenger, HSPH

Strategic Procurement

  • Bill Shanker

Campus Services

  • Carolee Hill, HRE  
  • Kris Locke, OFS
  • Mike Macrae, EMEH&S
  • Bob Manning, E&F
  • Joel McKellar, GBS
  • Steve Nason, HUH
  • John Nolan, Transportation
  • Jeffrey Smith, FMO
  • Bill VanSchalkwyk, EH&S

Information Technology

  • James Cuff, FAS
  • Eric D'Souza, HUIT

planning and project management

  • Garry Cuneo
  • Elizabeth Sisam


  • Mary Ann Bradley, FAS
  • Beth Cooney, HR
  • Rick Melnick, HBS



Current Committees

  • Green IT: Defining University-wide green IT goals.

Completed Committees

  • GHG Information Management System Selection: Oversaw RFP and selection process for Harvard's GHG Inventory Management provider.
  • Green Revolving Fund Policy and Governance Review: Updated policy and governance structure to make funds easier to access for energy conservation measures and innovative sustainability projects.
  • Sub-Metering/Measurement and Verification: Identified training and building commissioning as areas for the Harvard community to focus on.
  • Green Building Standards Implementation: Developed formal implementation process for the Green Building Standards, as well as a plan for ongoing assessment and updated to the Standards.
  • NSTAR MOU: Confirmed details of NSTAR MOU Energy Efficiency Partnership.
  • Siemens Master Service Agreement Review: Reviewed final draft of Siemens MSA and provided feedback to structure the MSA